The Fourth in Abstract

ImageLast night, I tried my hand at firework photography. My camera is not very fast, so I got a lot of images like the one above. Fortunately, I liked the weird squiggles even better than I would have liked a clear shot. Great shots of fireworks are plentiful, but how many fiery mutilated amoeba photos exist in the universe? It may not be great, but I think I can safely say it is unique. Here are a few more:ImageImageImageOne relatively normal shot, but it isn’t as good:ImageAnd this is what the beach looked like last night:ImageEvery Fourth of July, the 20-plus mile stretch of beach is covered with cars, tents, bonfires, and people shooting off fireworks. It is quite the spectacle–a nonstop three or four hour firework extravaganza. Image 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to The Fourth in Abstract

  1. Geoff says:

    Looks like a spectacular evening, great series!

  2. Lowell says:

    Love your sense of humor. Fireworks shots have become boring to me. I mean, really – who cares? Every year it’s the same thing, same shots…boring, boring, boring.

    But you’ve brought back the fun! I much prefer these to other “normal” shots I’ve seen. I think you just need to tell people this was how you imagined the sky to look and told your camera what to do and voila!

  3. Lowell says:

    Oh, glad to hear you’re OK. I was wondering. We’re OK, too. Little problem with fever and leg swelling but we’re working on it. Got granddaughter and great-grandson here for a couple of days.

  4. tapirgal says:

    I like the first 3 especially. The look alive . . . kinda like life in a Permian sea, eh?

Leave a Reply

