Ship Watching

ImageWatching a ship pass by on the Columbia. ImageMy camera doesn’t have great zoom, so this photo isn’t as clear as I would like, but I was still really excited to capture the river pilot climbing up the side of the ship. The river pilots take over from the bar pilots just past the Astoria Bridge. The bar and river pilots are basically super heroes. Navigating huge ships across the bar and down the river is incredibly tricky. The bar is one of the most dangerous waterways in the world, and river bottom topography is in constant flux. Plus, they have to climb several stories up those tiny ladders! ImageClicking on the photos will enlarge them. 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Ship Watching

  1. Geoff says:

    Highly skilled and dangerous indeed, great series!

  2. Lowell says:

    This is a very interesting post! When you see those ships out on the water they don’t look all that big. But when you see them in relation to a small tug, they look huge. Nice shots!

  3. A great responsibility that’s for sure. I believe that a pilot take over on cruise ships as well when the come not port.

  4. Linda says:

    My camera doesn’t have great zoom either, but I think you did a fine job capturing this ship. I have never been on a ship in my life. I only saw one in the Port of Montreal many years ago, it was from Norway, as I recall. It was a big ship and looked….well, so big! 🙂 I am fascinated with ships, I think since I have read a lot about the Titanic, it has helped me to be even more fascinated with them. Thank you so much for sharing this!

Leave a Reply

