Coast Guard Rescue Training

ImageCoast Guard rescue training exercises at North Head. These people are amazing. Diving into bone-crushing, hypothermia-inducing surf, bouncing off sheer cliffs, and holding helicopters motionless for long stretches of time in high winds, all to keep us safe. It’s nice to know that if I ever fall off a cliff, they’re just down the road.ImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImage

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Coast Guard Rescue Training

  1. Lowell says:

    When I was in the Navy, we made fun of the Coast Guard. But it is a wonderful branch of the service and they do much great work as you have so aptly portrayed in this marvelous series of photographs. What were you doing, sitting on top of a mountain? The photos are quite spectacular! Great colors. Looks like a nice, sunny day, too! Maybe they could use your photos for a recruitment brochure?

    • Thank-you, Lowell! Yes, I was hanging off the side of cliff waiting to be rescued, and I figured: hey, why not take a few photos for posterity? Or maybe I was at North Head lighthouse…

  2. tapirgal says:

    These are all nice. I like the color of the ‘copter against the background on the 3rd to the last, I always get a thrill out of seeing the guys hanging out in space. You couldn’t PAY me enough….

    • Thanks, Sheryl! It is very fun to watch, but it also makes me a bit jealous. I would love to hang hundreds of feet above sea like that. Sadly, I’m pretty sure they won’t let me hitch a ride. I might just have to go skydiving instead.

  3. Cyndi says:

    These are amazing! Great images and really shows off what the Coast Guard does so well.

Leave a Reply

