Stairway

Stairway

I must confess this was taken in Portland, not Long Beach. But I kind of like it, so I’m posting it anyway. At one point, I actually laid on the floor to try to get the whole thing in the frame–I failed, but it was fun trying.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Stairway

  1. Lowell says:

    Oh boy, you got my vertigo going this morning. ‘Tis, indeed, a beautiful shot and a creative way of looking at the stairway/well. I can see you laying on the floor (lying on the floor?) trying to get it all in! Photogs are nuts, right?

    Re your question: My D300 is my camera of choice although there are better ones on the market now. But I don’t see any reason to put out more money for what are essentially very small differences in the end product. The lens is more important than the camera, anyway, and I’m using a Nikkor 18-210 VR which does a nice job. (That set me back something like $700 +.

    I also use an old Nikon D70 (I got one of the first ones when they came out!). My point-and-shoot favorite is a Canon S95. I’ve other point-and-shoots, but they can’t compare with the S95. Lois shoots with a Nikon D40 which also does an excellent job.

  2. Halcyon says:

    Love this one! Hope no one thought you were crazy for lying on the floor!

    Re my Nikon, I have one of the newer versions of the D40. It’s lighter than a D300 or 700′, but I use a 55-200 lens which makes it slightly heavier than intended. I guess you get more features from the bigger models (focal points, etc) but I love my D3000 and it serves me well for blogging, etc. if you use smaller lenses on it, it’s not so heavy so also a good choice for vacations, etc. Email me if you want more info. πŸ™‚

  3. tapirgal says:

    Do you remember which building you were in when you were lying on the floor with people thinking you were crazy? This sounds like something I would do πŸ™‚ Making replies on other people’s blogs can be a fun way of communicating, for sure. Pat Tillett answers absolutely everybody on his own blog and then goes and makes a comment on their blog. I hold this out as an ideal, but I don’t take the time. It could be a full-time occupation, and I’m sure he’s felt that way sometimes!

  4. Fortunately no one saw me lying on the floor! I like The Pat Tillett Method. I think I’ll do that. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

