A Carpet of Sleeping Sanderlings

P1040766At least I think they’re Sanderlings. If not, I hope someone will correct me.

I went for a walk this evening and came across these little guys. Huddled together by the water’s edge, they blended in so well with their environment they looked like churned-up sand from a distance. I couldn’t take a headcount, but there were several hundred of them. I’ve never seen a flock that big on the beach before. As long as I stayed about ten feet away, they didn’t seem too disturbed by my presence. I was really wishing for a camouflage/stealth superpower, or a better zoom lens, so I could have crept a bit closer.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A Carpet of Sleeping Sanderlings

  1. Lowell says:

    I’ve never seen this many birds of any kind all in one place. Fascinating! Looks like little round fuzzy balls!

  2. tapirgal says:

    What fun! I’ve never noticed this kind of bird.

  3. Sam L. says:

    I see no birds. I click on the box, to no avail, but I trust it’s the same photo as the one above, minus Waldo.

  4. Thanks so much, Sam, for always letting me know when photos go missing. I uploaded it again, so you should be able to see. Last night, I made the mistake of trying to delete excess copies of the same photos because they seem to multiply behind the scenes. But whenever I do that, blog entries start disappearing. I guess I’ll have live with excess photos, but at least I figured out what caused the problem!

Leave a Reply

