Baker Bay

baker bay 2Baker Bay and quite possibly the most attractive public fish cleaning sink in the world.

Fun fact for the day: Did you know that the Long Beach Peninsula is only 28 miles long and between 2-5 miles wide? So if I ever brag that I walked the width of the peninsula, you’ll know not to be too impressed. πŸ™‚

11/30/2012 A big thanks to Dan, who enlightened me as to the Most Attractive Fish Cleaning Sink in the World’s origins. Maya Lin designed it as part of the Confluence Project to honor the Lewis and Clark expedition. Check it out here.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Baker Bay

  1. Lowell says:

    Another beauty of a shot of your area! I’m not sure about the “most attractive public fish cleaning sink,” but if you say so! πŸ™‚ I do love water, though, and this is a wonderful composition.

    Thanks so much for your kind words on our new blog. They mean more than you know!

  2. Halcyon says:

    I’m glad you didn’t picture any fish cleaning… yuck! But this is a fantastic view. Love how still the water is and that fabulous blue. A little piece of paradise!

  3. Dan says:

    It is most attractive; however, it’s reviled by many fisherman because it’s too low and it replaced a nice stainless steel arrangement.

    Maya Lin, the architect of the Vietnam Memorial in Washington, DC, designed it as one of several works to commemorate the Lewis and Clark Expedition.

    What a nice calm day that you were there to capture it.

  4. Thanks, all!

    Dan, I had no idea Maya Lin designed the fish sink! I’d heard she’d designed some things in the area to honor the Lewis and Clark expedition, but I had no idea the sink was hers. That would explain why it’s so aesthetically pleasing. Although I’m sorry to hear the fishermen aren’t as delighted with it as I am.

  5. tapirgal says:

    I wonder if the pilings are from a net shed, as they often are around here. So interesting about the sink! It would be fun to see, but I would also opt for the old useful one πŸ™‚ Gorgeous, gorgeous photo!

  6. Thanks! I don’t know what sort of structure the pilings once supported. Maybe Dan knows?

    • Dan says:

      I’m old, but not that old!
      I believe those pilings are the remnants of the barge landing for the original construction of the North Jetty about 100 years ago. If you scroll to the right on the panorama linked below (I hope it works!), you’ll see a trestle that goes out there.
      http://memory.loc.gov/cgi-bin/query/I?pan:141:./temp/~ammem_LyXe::displayType=1:m856sd=pan:m856sf=6a12989:@@@

  7. Dan says:

    Sorry about the bad links above. This one should work:

    http://www.loc.gov/pictures/resource/pan.6a12989/

  8. How fun to see what it used to look like! Thanks, Dan. And just for the record: I never thought you were old, just a fount of useful information. πŸ™‚ It’s so nice to have a reader who knows so much about the area as I’m just learning as I go along.

Leave a Reply

