Cranberry Harvest

Cranberry Harvest

In honor of Mural Monday. This mural is painted on the side of The Dennis Company, our local general store where you can buy everything from drain cleaners to dungarees. The mural is so long, it was difficult to get a decent shot of all of it. But if you’d like a vaguely fish-eyed panorama of the whole thing, click on the photo above.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Cranberry Harvest

  1. Lowell says:

    Cranberries and how they are grown and harvested are not things that I think about so I’m always a bit surprised to see cranberry bogs. This is a nice mural – well done artistically and probably shows life in the 1920s?

    I also like the fisheye effect and larger mural.

  2. Halcyon says:

    I like the old-timey style. I thought cranberries were grown in bogs/marshes? Perhaps I have seen too many Ocean Spray commercials. 🙂

  3. Interesting, I too thought cranberries grew in bogs. I like the old time feel of this.

  4. I never thought about how they were grown until I moved here either, Lowell. It’s kind of interesting. Halcyon, the Ocean Spray commercials are right! They are grown in bogs which are flooded right before the harvest. But I got curious and checked Wikipedia (whatever did we do without Wikipedia??), and apparently cranberries are sometimes dry-picked. I’m learning all kinds of fascinating things because of this blog. 🙂

  5. Wow, this IS a big mural. A wonderful service to the community to fill the wall with a local scene rather than keeping it blank. The figures to the right of photo are in a style reminiscent (to me, anyway) of WPA murals from the 30s. Would love to see a cranberry bog in real life. Welcome LBPDP and thanks for contributing to Monday Mural.

  6. robert says:

    An impressive piece of art indeed ! Thank you for sharing. Please have a good Tuesday.

    daily athens photo

  7. RedPat says:

    It was cool to see the fish-eye of the whole mural. It’s beautifully done!

  8. tapirgal says:

    I’d never seen this mural. The crazy colors make it look like an old photo or postcard.

  9. Andy says:

    I like murals like this one that give a glimpse of time gone by.

Leave a Reply

